Book Review: The Girl Who Talked to Ghosts – YA Novel for Fans of Harry Potter

test

The Girl Who Saved Ghosts (The Unbelievables Book 2)

By K.C. Tansley

DISCLOSURE OF MATERIAL CONNECTION: I have a material connection because I received a review copy for free from Netgalley and the publisher.

Kat Langley is exhausted. Ghosts are visiting her day and night for her to assist with their reckoning. Kat can help them leave the earth and be at peace, but physically and mentally it is taking a toll on her.

It might seem like a tough job for a high school girl, but not as tough as time traveling and fighting evil last year. Unfortunately, this year will bring more challenges than ever before, not the least of which is traveling to Dumbarton, her father’s ancestral home, to learn more about her powers. But more importantly to Kat, returning to the home of her father’s family she may meet the man she has longed for all of her life. She needs to know why he left her as an infant. Finding out more about becoming the Langley heir in the process, just might help Kat figure out why she is the chosen one.

Unbeknownst to Kat, she will be called upon to save not only her family, but the future of the three other families that the Langleys have been intertwined with for centuries. Forces that are stronger than Kat will require more magic than she can summon alone, but she must try or they will all perish.

Tansley conjures up a fabulous tale of good and evil mixed with magic and danger. Her characters both dead and alive are compelling and interesting. Jumping into a different century adds a complexity that is often missing in YA novels. The main plot as well as the subplots of romance and family issues rounds out the novel in a satisfying way.

This is the first novel I’ve read in the series, and it did take a chapter or two for me to get up to speed on the back story. I would suggest reading the first in the series, The Girl Who Ignored Ghosts to avoid any confusion. That being said, I enjoyed it.

I highly recommend this series to anyone who loved Harry Potter. It is a captivating story for both YA and adults.

Copyright © 2018 Laura Hartman

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s