Ahhh Monday

Mondays are mostly stinky. I stay up too late on Sundays, usually reading just “one more chapter” for an hour after a sensible person would be asleep. The alarm at 5:30 is abrasive and unforgiving no matter how late I’ve stayed up, so most Mondays are not fun at all.

But today was awesome. My youngest son and daughter-in-law arrived for a visit, which is enough to make me very happy. I am lucky enough to talk to them a lot on the phone, but only get to see them a couple of times a year. We have all kinds of things to do while they are here. That is just icing on the cake for me. Anytime I can spend with our kids makes me very happy.

We had a great dinner with them and our oldest son tonight (the middle son had to work – we missed him but will see him on Thursday and hopefully Friday).

So even though I got up at the crack of dawn. N0- before the crack of dawn, it looked dark as midnight. I finished what had to be done at work until next Monday. Our family will be together at Thanksgiving and lots of other times this week. And I can sleep in the rest of the week. I know that doesn’t sound like much, but it is the little things I like. Sleeping until 7 tomorrow and dinner with the kids tonight. It was a great Monday.

 

3 Comments

Filed under family, Uncategorized

3 responses to “Ahhh Monday

  1. Now, that just sounds like heaven to me 🙂 Have a great time!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Time with our grown children is always a treasure. Glad you are getting a plateful of that. 🙂 Sleeping till 7 is something I just can’t do. I’ve been retired for a long time from a paying job but I’m up before the coffee turns on most days. No alarm clock here. My heart goes out to those who must have one. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving. I’ve been reading Izzy and Lenore by Jon Katz and have a hard time putting it down at night too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

