What’s Cooking for Thanksgiving?

Thanksgiving is the holiday that has the most food prep and cooking involved in our household. I rely on old family recipes most of all and a few newcomers that have been found on Pinterest, magazines and the internet in general. My most favorite recipes are here:

cook book

My mom got me this blank journal the first year I was married (1976) to write favorite recipes in. Obviously I use it a lot. There are stains and notes on the pages, the edges are brown and the front fell off. The pages are loose and that yellow pony tale holder is used to keep it together so nothing is lost.

Making these recipes reminds me of the people who are no longer sitting at our Thanksgiving table. Their memories and love in the form of the recipes handed down to me are with us.

I’ll share one that my kids like the best. I am not sure where my Mom got the recipe, but is it quick, easy and my sons absolutely have to have it at a family dinner.  What food = holiday love in your family?

Mom’s Veggie Dip

8 oz cream cheese – softened

2-3 T mayo

2 good dashes ketchup (don’t question mom’s recipe LOL)

1 tsp horseradish (I use the stuff in the jar – but NOT the creamed)

1/2 c finely diced chopped onion

garlic salt to taste

Mix all ingredients (I use a mixer because it is so much easier on your hands). Chill until firm. I usually make it at least 3 hours ahead or the night before. 

Serve with raw veggies of your liking.

 

2 Comments

Filed under cooking, family, NaBloPoMo, recipes, Thanksgiving

2 responses to “What’s Cooking for Thanksgiving?

  1. I don’t think I’ve changed my Thanksgiving menu much over the last 48 years. Unless we were out of the country or there was no one to cook for. This year, back to traditional. 🙂 Have a happy one.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

