Snow!

IT IS COMING! I’VE HEARD ALL THE REPORTS!!!!

jim

If you live in the Midwest, you have to have heard about the SNOW. Not just snow; SNOW. The weather people on the news and internet and the amateur meteorologists around the water cooler have been bemoaning the upcoming snow storm for the last week.

I got a “breaking news” alert in my email today that said – if you are faint of heart you may want to sit down – it COULD be a bigger storm than we got in 1940!

All I have to say is really? We live in Northern Illinois. It is November. More than likely there will be snow.

Do I like driving in it? Nope. Do I like shoveling it? Nope. Do I like looking at it? You betcha. It is beautiful. I have a love/hate relationship with snow.

The hubby worked for 35 years plowing snow. He was gone for days when we had storms like all of the other guys in the department. Plans during snow season were unheard of. But now he is retired, so the snow I hated that took him away on weekends and nights is getting more like the snow I loved as a kid. Until I have to drive in it. 🙂

Even though we are only having flurries right now, the experts and amateurs agree that by tomorrow at this time we’ll have to pull out the snow blowers and put bells on the dogs to find them in the drifts.

DSC_0033

Welcome winter, I hope you are kind to us this year.

 

 

 

3 Comments

Filed under winter

3 responses to “Snow!

  1. Kathleen Howell

    I’m in metro Detroit, they say by dawn it should arrive. I’m curious to see just how much we get, they always make it sound like armageddon.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve NEVER seen snow in real life! 😦 (20 deg C is winter for us!) Really want to experience it!… Build a snowman..have a snowball fight..go tobogganing..the whole nine yards! 🙂 Have fun! 🙂

    Like

    • Since I grew up with it, I can’t imagine not having snow (but right about now I wouldn’t mind). As soon as the plows get it off of the streets I am happier because some people don’t understand you can’t zip around like dry pavement. But sitting i my kitchen right now It is beautiful coming down in the back yard.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

