Thanksgiving = Family & Tradition

I have to get a plan together. Thanksgiving is only a few weeks away and there is so much to do!

The most important part of Thanksgiving in our house is family. Yeah, they want some turkey, and “fixin’s” and dessert. And more dessert…but the most important part of the holiday (or any day in my opinion) is spending time and making memories with family and a few close friends.

This year I am super excited because our son and daughter-in-law are flying in on Monday and staying until Saturday. When they come in for Thanksgiving, we like to go into Chicago and visit Christkindlesmarket at Daley Plaza. It is usually cold (and last year it was rainy) but it is a wonderland of German food and gifts. Go to their website to get all the info http://www.christkindlmarket.com/

Christkindlmarket Christkindlmarket 2

We also get a live Christmas tree and will do that before they leave to go back to home. When the boys were little, they loved going to cut down the Christmas tree. Tromping through a snowy or muddy field depending upon our fickle weather. They used to argue over who was going to cut it down. Now they argue over who HAS to cut it down. But they are good sons and don’t complain too much when I look at a dozen trees before going back to the first one :} And when in a hurry, we just go to Home Depot to get the tree. It doesn’t matter to me as long as we are spending time together.

getting the tree again getting the tree

Another yearly event, which takes much more planning than dinner or where we are getting the Christmas tree is the annual Christmas Craft. When other families are napping or watching football after Thanksgiving dinner, we clear the table of everything except the veggie dip because you have to keep your strength up when crafting.

DSC_0351

I’ve blogged about the craft before, because I write about what is close to me and what I love and our family getting together to do traditional things like the Christmas Craft and Christkindlmarket and cutting down a Christmas tree together.

I’ll post more once I have an idea for the craft, which is kept secret until Thanksgiving day – but I’ll share when I can. And how the Christmas tree hunt turns out.

No worries about Thanksgiving dinner though. We’ll have the traditional foods we do most every year. They are just the fixin’s that go with the main event of spending time with family 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Christmas, family, Thanksgiving

2 responses to “Thanksgiving = Family & Tradition

  1. You have inspired me today. I’ll have to go back and read your earlier posts on this. I would LOVE to go to the Christkindlesmarket. It looks like my idea of heaven, being a good German. I would brave the cold and rain too. We are sorely lacking in family and tradition but this year, a niece and her family will be joining my 2 adult children and myself. I like the idea of a crafting session after dinner. I’m hoping for good weather so those traveling will get home safely in the dark. I have been thinking that putting up the tree that night and letting each put one ornament on would be fun but maybe too much of a challenge with time. It’s my favorite time of year.

    Like

Leave a Reply

