WIP Wednesday: Christmas in July

This week has been hotter than hot with a smattering of thunderstorms to keep us on our toes. I am so thankful to have air conditioning in the house, car and work. So I really don’t have any excuses not to knit. Especially when working on a small project.

The scarf I am making for Christmas is coming along really well. It is a simple feather & fan pattern, so I don’t have to think about what I am doing except on the lace row. That makes it perfect for knitting on break at work as well as in the evenings while watching the Cubs on TV.

scarf progress 7.29.15

Until the blocking is done, it is hard to see the lace, so I pulled it out on the needles to help a bit. The rows of yarn that look white areย the UV color change fiber that will turn purple in the sunlight. So it will be a fun scarf to wear, sometimes pink, purple and white, sometimes pink and purple. The variegated yarn also has a bit of glitter so there is a lot going on. That is why I wanted a simple pattern.

Other than the scarf, I haven’t started or finished anything this week. I got the yarn for a baby blanket for a friend of mine as well as some Bernat Pipsqueak to make more NICU hats. The nurse that takes them in said right now they have 25 babies in the unit. I need to knit faster!!

Until next week, keep cool and knit on. ๐Ÿ™‚

8 Comments

Filed under Bernat, Christmas, Knitting, Pipsqueak, scarf, WIP Wednesday, yarn

8 responses to “WIP Wednesday: Christmas in July

  1. It’s quite beautiful even unfinished. ๐Ÿ™‚ Too many babies needing hats. So sad. I have been thinking of Christmas as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Always love the ‘Feather & Fan’ pattern but to add to that the UV light changing yarn – VERY clever! I’m sure whoever receives this will be thrilled!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Knock down, drag out gorgeous! I didn’t see the sparkly highlights until I enlarged the picture twiceโ€”love what it adds to the scarf.
    Kudos to you for knitting something so deliciously warm and cozy looking in this heat. . .

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

