WIP Wednesday – Knitting Group

Happiest Wednesday!

Last night I was fortunate enough to be invited to a knitting group by a dear friend. We don’t see much of each other in person, but keep in touch with FB and Words With Friends. We’ve been chatting about forming an informal knitting night, and Judy graciously invited us to her home.

We chatted, catching up with old friends and met new friends. Our common bond of fiber gave us plenty to chat and laugh about. New knitters and seasoned knitters worked on on blankets, washcloths, scarves and shawls. I started the scarf for my cousin’s Christmas gift earlier this week, so that is what I took along to work on.

Judy has some great ideas for our new group. She collected email addresses and is compiling a resource list of yarn shops, websites and tips. I am very excited to hear she has the info to visit local farms that raise Alpacas . Who doesn’t love baby alpaca??

Judy shared a tip I can’t wait to use. When working a pattern where you repeat several rows for a pattern, she writes each row on a separate index card. No more counting, making marks, etc to see where you are in a pattern, you just flip the card to the back of the stack and go to the next card. When you stop for the evening, clip them together and you’ll know exactly where to start the next time you pick up your work. I love this useful tip!

To top off the night, Judy’s husband made each of us a beautiful hand turned Nostepinne. If you (like me) have never seen or used one, here is the description from The Woolery (http://www.woolery.com/Store/pc/Using-a-Nostepinne-d38.htm):

“Nostepinne” or “nostepinde” is a Scandinavian word that means “nest-stick.”; the original Ball Winder. It is a tool used to wind a center-pull yarn ball. A nostepinne is portable, easy to use, and creates a center-pull ball that can be used without changing the twist in the yarn.

I tried using mine tonight. It is going to take a bit of practice, but I am getting the hang of it 🙂

Nostepinne

When we meet again I am going to bring the pattern and yarn for the NICU unit baby bear hats. Meantime I’ve finished my sweater, but it needs the buttons and to be washed/blocked. I’ll have pictures next week.

I hope you all have a friend or a wonderful group to hang out with and knit. Or crochet. Or Quilt…you get the idea 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under Crocheting, Knitting, WIP Wednesday, yarn

One response to “WIP Wednesday – Knitting Group

  1. I’m glad you found a group – I started one about 7 years ago and I’m really glad I did. We’ve made new friends, learned tips, shared patterns, shared in the joys and griefs of each other & our families – in all, we’ve become a tight group that shares and cares (just what you’d want in a group). One thing we started a while back: one of our ladies has a ‘Man Cave’ – their basement has a flat screen TV and is big enough to have several tables. We do a “Knit/Crochet Movie Night.” It’s a potluck (we pick a food theme: like “American” – hot dogs/burgers, etc, or ‘Stuffed Baked Potatoes” – basically I send out the email to the group on the food theme and then they sign up for what they’re bringing. I asked the ladies to bring their favorite DVD’s and we vote on what we’re watching that night.We eat, then watch the movie (and knit/crochet- or not). It’s a fun time. We also do charity work a few times a year: our local Veteran’s hospital holds a Vet’s Wives Baby Shower and we make hats/booties/snug sacks, blankets etc. to donate. In the past we’ve done baby hats for the local hospital, bears for the “Mother Bear’ project for abused children, dishclothes for the local historical society’s summer event. I quickly included crocheters to our group simply because they also work in yarn and most of us knit and crochet. I love the group – so glad you’ve found your ‘knit home’!

    Like

Leave a Reply

