WIP Wednesday – Finishing Up

This week I pulled out the blue and yellow baby blanket to finish. I decided it needed to be done before the weather gets warm since it is almost crib size and pretty warm when I am working on it. I only have one yellow row and four blue rows left, then the border. I might get it finished tonight during the hockey game (GO HAWKS!).

blue and yellow blanket 6.3.15

My shawl is coming along great. I’ve started the last section of lace, but of course each row takes quite a while to knit since every other row increases by four stitches. By the time I took the pictures tonight the sun was going down, so the first one of just the top few rows show more of the true colors than the other, but I like the look of the lace in the second pic so I added it. I am excited to finish it because it will be perfect to take with me to the movies and restaurants this summer when the AC is turned down to meat locker temperatures.

6.3.15 possum shawl good color6.3.15 possum shawl color right

The last thing I did this week was repair a sweater for a woman I work with. It was kind of tricky.I couldn’t crochet it because only a small section of stitches unraveled when a piece of the yarn broke. By using a sharp needle, I was able to “crochet” with it by basically doing a chain stitch where the single crochet needed to go, and weaving the thread through the open stitched at the bottom of the shells. The hardest part was weaving the ends as the yarn is fragile and didn’t want to go easily into the backs of the stitches so they would not be seen. I think it turned out pretty good. Hopefully Barb will agree and she’ll be able to wear her sweater again.

Barb's sweater before

You can see the edging off in this picture.

Barb's sweater after

This is the same edge after the repair.

I am thinking about my next project, since I might finish the shawl this week and will finish the baby blanket. The blanket will go in my stash closet to wait for the next baby boy to be born.

Which brings me to my MIP (Mess In Progress) that I call my stash closet. I absolutely need to clean that mess up. Somehow it got way out of control and it is making me crazy. If it rains this weekend, I just might tackle it. If you don’t hear from me next Wednesday, send in the Mounties or at least a St. Bernard with a flask of a nice red wine to rescue me.

4 Comments

Filed under baby blanket, Crocheting, Knitting, shawl, WIP Wednesday

4 responses to “WIP Wednesday – Finishing Up

  1. Will keep a sharp watch out for you but I gotta’ say—I find a dog with a keg—you can count on it being ‘fumes only’ by the time he finds you. . . hic. . .

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love the baby blanket! (do you have a pattern for that? . . . and – would you be willing to share?) I crochet but only the basics. You did a GREAT job of repairing that edging (I would probably have tried to sew it back on – you ‘went the extra mile’!). Love reading your blog.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You made me laugh today. 🙂 Temps down to meat locker is what I experience too. Don’t they know what a LITTLE cooler is?? I always carry a sweater inside and now wear a cap as the air is inevitably always directed on my head. I know what you mean about the mess in the craft closet. If I went in, I’d need a few bottles as well. Happy hunting. Have a great week. :))))

    Like

Leave a Reply

