WIP Wednesday Shawls and Bears

Here’s the thing. I started to use the beautiful yarn I told you about last week. First of all I was wrong, it isn’t silk, it is mink yarn. Because the band was all in Chinese, I couldn’t read it and I’d had it so long I’d forgotten that it was mink! Second of all I wasn’t wrong about not liking to do lace. As a matter of fact I hate lace with lace weight yarn, but I do like lace with sport, fingering or worsted yarn. So I gave Leslie the yarn to make a beautiful shawl for me (her idea and I should have taken her up on the offer immediately instead of waffling around).

But call me stubborn, I still had the itch to make a shawl myself. So I looked through my ample stash and came upon some possum yarn that is fabulously soft and much easier to work with than the mink I handed off to Leslie. In case you are wondering, it is possum, not opossum yarn, made from marsupial possums in New Zealand. I did a post about it when I ordered it, if you want more info check it out here. https://writeknit.wordpress.com/2012/09/14/new-zealand-possum-yarn/

 5.13.15 possum shawl

It is coming along nicely if I do say so myself 🙂

The other project I’ve worked on is NICU bear hats during my lunch hours at work. Because I need to count the increases and stitches on the shawl, I only work on it at home. Below is a work in progress pic of the hats and a completed pic.

5.13.15 bears in progress2           5.13.15 bears complete

This week projects will include the shawl at home, and NICU hats at work. I am not sure if I’ll make more bears. or work on another pattern. Hopefully I’ll have 4 or 5 complete to share next week.

3 Comments

Filed under baby hats, Knitting, New Zealand, NICU, possum yarn, shawl, WIP Wednesday

3 responses to “WIP Wednesday Shawls and Bears

  1. I’ve learned a lot here today. I had no idea there were so many kind of yarn. I’ll have to investigate further. Your bear hats are just too cute.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for stopping by my blog – I enjoyed your writing! (MINK yarn? I’m guessing that was a ‘pretty penny’ as to cost). The shawl looks great – love the cream lace! Love the bear hats, too – great job!

    Like

Leave a Reply

