WIP Wednesday – Nothing to Write Home About

This week I spent more time reading than knitting. I started a polar bear hat that is ready to bind off and stitch together. It won’t take long, but it will be at least tomorrow before I finish it. Next week you’ll see it completed.

Polar bear in progressI’m still obsessed with starting a shawl that in all likelihood will never be finished. I love the look of a lacy shawl, but in reality I’m not a lace knitter. I sometimes convince myself I’ll have the patience and find a quiet place to begin and actually complete a beautiful lace shawl, but honestly I am better off with something that doesn’t need to be counted. Carefully. Without distraction. Riiiight.

I have some beautiful yarn. I ordered this silk from China in 2012. I have other lace weight yarns in my stash, but this one just calls to me when I think of a soft, silky shawl to wrap around my shoulders on cool evenings. Maybe a nice glass of wine, sitting on my porch swing with my hubby…all of this sounds so romantic, but unrealistic.

silk yarn

I am more likely wearing a hooded sweatshirt with a Pike’s Peak logo on the front, sipping a Diet Coke from the can and listening to my sweet hubby complain about being cold. AND this scenario would not require completion of the shawl that I am already love/hating.

I have whined enough about it to my friend Leslie, that today she offered to take the yarn and knit it for me. She loves to knit lace and does a great job, without any whining at all.  It is really tempting. Maybe I’ll just start it, get sick of it and hand it off to Leslie.

We are oddly opposite. She loves order, I thrive on disorder. I’m loud, she’s quiet. I’m old enough to be her mother and that is ok because we both love to knit. You can tell who we are by our websites. Mine is kind of scrambled with reading, writing and yarn arts and hers is very tidy and organized. Check it out: http://singlestitchknit.com

So I don’t know what I’ll be starting this week. I will be finishing the white NICU hat for sure. I am seriously thinking short sleeves to finish the brown sweater I started way too long ago, maybe this week but probably not.

I also have lots of squares for a Lego blanket started. Maybe I’ll make a few of them. Not likely tho.

Perhaps I’ll make Leslie nuts and start a shawl. 🙂

4 Comments

Filed under baby hats, blanket, Knitting, NICU, shawl, WIP Wednesday

4 responses to “WIP Wednesday – Nothing to Write Home About

  1. Dear Laura
    Do not drive yourself any more batty. We like the level you are at! Give Leslie the yarn.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Shawl Challenge

  3. I had to laugh. Why do we do things like that to ourselves? Taking on a project we know we are going to end up not finishing. I’d love to be able to knit anything and especially something lacy. I love lacy but like you, I’d end up with the hoody. Practical and warm. Not the soda though, bad for the bones. Make more of what you enjoy. Lovely that your friend is the opposite. You can make the things she doesn’t like and she can do the lace. A glass of wine will make it all go better.:)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Glad to hear there’s someone else who ALSO chooses projects that are a bit ‘out of their league’! Don’t remember if I blogged about it, but about a year ago I ordered VERY fine yarn & #1 needles to knit a shawl (to go with a costume). I got to HATING it! Finally, last week our Knit group had a Yarn Swap and I took the whole thing: all yarn, #1 circ. needles & partially finished project and dumped it. Luckily, a friend was happy to get it all! Perhaps SHE can make something nice out of my mess! (I ended up ordering a completed shawl on Etsy.com – saved my sanity!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

