WIP Wednesday on Thursday

As you can see this is being posted on Thursday. Things have been hectic, but interesting to say the least. I’ve had an odd combo of crafting projects this week, but I’ll start with the socks I talked about last week. I am almost down to my toes, I figure about 4 rows and I’ll begin the decreases for the toe shaping. If I find an hour to work on them before the weekend, I will be ready to cast on the second sock, but honestly think it will be completed over the weekend instead of before. Here is a pic of the yarn I am using, it is heavier than the usual sock yarn I use, but wanted this weight for next fall to wear inside a pair of short boots that I absolutely love ๐Ÿ™‚

DSC_0079


gray sock April 15 2

I also worked on fusing two tablecloths together. Sounds like an odd task, but let me explain. Back in the 80’s I was a stay at home Mom with 3 little boys. I used to read the magazines I received in the mail from cover to cover soaking in advise, tips and recipes. I read about starting a family tradition of signing a white table cloth on each holiday, then stitching the names to create a family heirloom of sorts. It seemed like a great idea until the stitching took longer than anticipated. I stitched some, my grandma stitched some, my aunt stitched some – and we still couldn’t keep up! So we switched to fabric paint. This was a good idea – or so we thought, until it started to flake off in the washing process (we actually eat with it on the table at all holidays) so we had to go to plan “C”. Now I purchase colorful Sharpie markers so that problem has been solved. Until….the younger generation started lobbying for a new tablecloth. All of the ex-girlfriends and a couple of ex-husbands were a point of contention. I was not willing to retire the tablecloth with the signatures of loved ones that are no longer with us. My grandma, mom, aunt and mother-in-law to name a few as well as the adorable signatures of the kids as they learned to print then write. So my plan was formed to make everyone as happy as I could. I purchased a second tablecloth, fused them together and will (hopefully before the next holiday) stitch a border on to even up the edges and secure the new side with the old side. Here is the pick I sent all the “youngsters” in the family to show them I was listening ๐Ÿ™‚ They all seemed happy with the compromise.

tablecloth

The last thing I worked on this week was SOAP! I have been lusting after all of the beautiful soaps on Pinterest. My board Suds and Scrubs has tons of pins, I am obsessed. My friend Leslie got me the supplies I needed to make a simple batch of lemon soap for my birthday last week and I was dying to try it.

soap mold

The first thing that needed to be done was dry shredded lemon peels. I now have 4 naked lemons in my fridge, but the peels were fabulously fragrant after drying in the sun.

lemon for soap

The recipe was amazingly easy, soap base, essential oil, lemon peel and food coloring (note to self – one teeny speck of food coloring is more than enough). This was a super way to begin as it was easy and pretty fool proof . I made it in 2 batches, one with food coloring, one without.

setting soap

And the finished product that I am very pleased with for my first soap adventure. I am thinking soap for everyone at Christmas!!! LOL

finished soap

Now for the irons I have in the fire. The second sock is a given. I signed up for the Spring NICU challenge, so I have ย newborn size baby hats to make. Read more about it here: http://www.sunsetfamilyliving.com/spring-2015-nicu-challenge-join/ ย I am not too concerned about getting them done, since I’ve already donated the 20 bunny hats this month, but want to complete at least 10 more. The nurse I know that works in the NICU I donate to said everyone fights over the bear hats, so I think I will focus on them.

Lastly, the gal at work that I just finished the baby afghan for in February needs another one. ย I swear everyone she knows must be pregnant – with boys!!! I don’t know how happy she is going to be that I have to charge her more than I have been. I have been only a few dollars over the cost of the yarn, and honestly need to have a bit for all the hours involved.

Have a wonderful week – mine looks to be busy ๐Ÿ™‚

4 Comments

Filed under baby hats, blanket, Crafts, Crocheting, family, Knitting, NICU, Soap Making, socks

4 responses to “WIP Wednesday on Thursday

  1. You have been one busy lady! I have been behind on my reading and trying to catch up. You need to charge more. Your time is worth no less than anyone’s. That’s why I don’t sell quilts. The hours involved are too many to have someone pay for them. Most want ever thing for the cost of materials or less. I like your socks. No toes are a fashion statement? ๐Ÿ™‚ And now soap? What will you try next. If I had to make my own soap, I’d probably never be clean again. :). I’ll have to go back and see the bear hats. They sound cute. Have a good week.

    Like

    • I could have finished the socks there and used them for pedicure socks ๐Ÿ™‚ I admire you for making quilts, I’ve always wanted to make one, but have never tried. The soap was super easy, I would like to try a harder soap recipe, but for now this was perfect!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Pedicure socks. What a fun idea! ๐Ÿ™‚ If I can quilt, anyone can. I tend to be a little slow on the upswing as they say. I have a hard time with directions. Quilters love to teach others and are so nice. That’s why I have to keep going back for more. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

  2. It’s so nice to find another blogger who also ‘goes in many directions’ with crafts; it’s hard to just focus on ONE thing – there are SO many ideas on Pinterest/Facebook/Ravelry – you name it! Your soap looks great! WAY TO GO!

    Like

Leave a Reply

