WIP Wednesday

I’ve been busy working on baby hats for the NICU unit this past month.  My girlfriend is going to see her sister next week, so I wanted to have some hats completed for her.

DSC_0068

 

Here are most of the completed hats. I try and make different sizes and some for boys, girls or unisex hats.

DSC_0070The baby bear hats are one of my favorites. The color in the picture above is the actual yarn color, but this picture shows more of what they would look like on the little one’s heads. The yarn is super soft Bernat Pipsqueak. It is machine wash and dry because new mom’s don’t have time to handwash clothes 🙂

 

I made a few with hearts because Valentine’s Day is coming up soon.
DSC_0066 DSC_0065 DSC_0064

 

And a made a few plain hats and girlie hats. Each one takes less than an hour to make.

DSC_0076_01 DSC_0065_01DSC_0083_01

It is a great way to put good use to your stash (you know you have bits of yarn left from other projects just crying out to you. There are ones of free patterns on Ravelry and other places on the internet. After you make a few, it is easy to follow the basic shape and create your own patterns.

Next month I will have a bunch of bunny hats ready to sent to the NICU unit for Easter Morning. I have a bag of ears done and a few of the actual hats already.

Project updates:

My sweater is still as it was – sleeveless.

I’ve finished the baby blanket for the gal at work. She chose the colors, I used my go to crochet pattern from Bev’s Country Cottage, Baby Shells. It is quick, easy and always turns out well. Again I went with an acrylic yarn, Knit Picks Brava worsted for easy cleaning.

Bennie's baby blanket 2

Bennie's baby blanket

9 Comments

Filed under Charity, Crafts, Crocheting, Knitting

9 responses to “WIP Wednesday

  1. Loved them all, especially the heart hats and the red and white blanket. So sweet.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Cute hates, and I really like that stitch in your baby blanket. I prefer acrylic yarn too, although I have a fondness for woolease yarn. I always try to catch it on sale.

    Like

  3. The baby bear hats are SO CUTE.

    Like

  4. Those. Are. So. Cute!!! It makes me wish I had a baby. You’re going to make some kids happy.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. OMG! I wish I had an itty bitty head. . .

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

