Writing 101 Day 14 – To Whom It May Concern

Pick up the nearest book and flip to page 29. What’s the first word that jumps off the page? Use this word as your springboard for inspiration. If you need a boost, Google the word and see what images appear, and then go from there. 

Today’s twist: write the post in the form of a letter.

I opened Dean Koontz “The Good Guy” to page 29, the word the immediately jumped out at me was blind.

Dear Sir or Madam,

I am writing in regards to the problems with my internet. I blindly trusted you when we signed up for your faster DSL. It is faster. Faster to go down on windy days,  faster to go up in price and faster making me blind with fury.

While I am not a tech, I am not blind. When I tell your phone rep that there isn’t a reset button, it is because I AM looking at the back of the unit and there IS NOT! There is a hole with a red circle around it. When I ask if I am supposed to poke something in there, she said, “of course – for 3 seconds”. One hundred one, one hundred two, one hundred three…

Nope, still no internet. And no, it is not my computer. My phone, Nook, husband’s computer all will not connect either. It IS  your equipment. Should I keep up the blind faith you expect me to have in you? Should I follow along with you like one of the three blind mice? You must answer these questions or I will be forced to BCC all of your superiors.

I sincerely hope you are correct when you tell me it will be fixed by tomorrow. I am so looking forward to watching the new Blind Melon video. While I’m waiting, I’ll just keep singing “Blinded by the Light” because that song calms me and brings down my blood pressure.

My apologies for this letter getting to you after my internet has been fixed (there you see my blind faith in you AGAIN). But I could not email it due to lack of available internet service.

Best Regards,

Writeknit

 

2 Comments

Filed under writing101

2 responses to “Writing 101 Day 14 – To Whom It May Concern

  1. Chuckled over this. Getting service from a big company IS a,,,ahem,,, patience-developing adventure. And as one who is depending on iffy satellite internet service, I can feel with you. When the cloud cover is heavy we just don’t have it, service reps or not.

    Like

  2. lol … You’ve written a very polite letter about an all-too-common exercise in futility 😉 ❤ ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

