Writing 101 day 3: What is the soundtrack of your life?

Today we were asked to think about, write about, describe and define the three (seriously, only 3??) songs that are the most important in our lives.

I’ve was thinking about this on and off  while working the day job today. The song that immediately came mind was “Do You Feel Like We Do” by Peter Frampton. It has to be the live version on the “Frampton Comes Alive” album. Yes, album. Released in 1976, this two album set became the soundtrack of my newly married life. We played it on the new stereo in our first apartment. Young, without much money, we could easily afford to stay home and listen to Frampton. Three years later I was still totally into his music. In 1979 I rocked our new son singing Frampton instead of lullabies. “Do You Feel Like We Do” is still one of my all time favorites. Possibly even more so now that we have seen Frampton perform it live. Twice. Wooooooooo!!! 🙂Frampton_his son_Cheap Trick Summer 2014

The next  two songs are not as clear in my mind. I’m a Beatles fan, love the Rolling Stones and listen to Big Band tunes from the 40s when driving on the snowy, ice covered streets of Chicago’s winters. I mentioned yesterday singing the Kookaburra Song to my sons when they were little, it brings the fondest memories of my Grandma, mom and aunts singing to me when I was little.

If I absolutely have to narrow my soundtrack to three, the second would probably be “Still the One” by Orleans. Also a pop song from the early days of dating my husband, it can take me back to the 70’s but also remind me that “…I want you to know, after all these years, you’re still the one I want whisperin’ in my ear…” Corny but true, I can’t imagine life without him even after 40 years. This song makes me happy.

“What a Wonderful World” by no one other than Louis Armstrong will round out my favorite songs. This song is so beautiful it makes me cry most times when I hear it. It is the song I picked for the mother/son dance at my son’s wedding. I chose it because no matter what sadness or sorrow touches your life, there are things of beauty all around us if we just open our eyes to see them.

DSC_0233

 

1 Comment

Filed under Frampton, music, writing101

One response to “Writing 101 day 3: What is the soundtrack of your life?

  1. Thank you, I don’t think I’ve ever heard that Frampton album, it came out the year I was born and all my favorite 70s music was introduced through my father’s collection, which didn’t contain it. I’ll see if the library has it or check out some live YouTube versions soon. “Still the One” also lifts my spirits, and “What a Wonderful World” are both classics high on my personal charts-thank you for the picture!

    Like

Leave a Reply

