Writing 101 day 1

Hum. I started blogging on 12/29/11.  My plan was to get into the habit of writing every day. After a short bit, I decided maybe every day was too ambitious. Three times a week would be good. Then it became once a week. Then once every few weeks, then months went by. So much for writing every day.

Eventually I split my blog into two. One of them focused on my love of books, writing reviews and updating my progress in getting published. Technically, I have been published. Magazine articles, an essay/short story memoir, short stories in ebooks… all very exciting to me. Possibly very boring to readers of blogs. Maybe some can identify with the troubles writers encounter and yet keep on writing.

In My Words (lauramhartman.wordpress.com) is that blog. Almost all of my posts are book reviews, which is the best of both of my worlds. Reading then writing about what I have read. I’m finding fantastic new authors, discovering established authors and a few that I don’t ever want to read again.

All the while I have been working on various writing projects of my own. My focus the last year has been writing children’s picture books. I’m in a fabulous, wonderful, funny, bright online crit group that has given me so much help with my writing I feel guilty. They are an amazing group of Chicks 🙂

I guess it is funny that I am working so hard on story books, when all of my adult short stories involve murder and mayhem. But my Jekyll and Hyde personality can both be satisfied with these two genres so I am rolling with it.

My latest story is going to be for a bit older group. Young readers 8-12. I’ve been writing bits of the story in my head (doesn’t everyone???LOL) and will soon get it to paper.

My other blog (writeknit.wordpress.com)  is all about knitting, crocheting and other crafty things. I started working on the Knitting Guild’s Master Knitter program about the time I started the blogs. I am not sure I really want/need to do that anymore. I knit to relax. Sometimes I really push myself with a hard pattern or difficult yarn. So the jury is still out on the program.

Again, I’ve been totally lax in my posts on this blog. Since the first of the year, I’ve completed 2 lace scarves, most of a sweater (for myself – what a concept!) and began working on some afghans for Christmas gifts.

Anyway, now that I’ve rambled for 20 minutes, I’ve completed my first challenge for WordPress’ Writing 101 course. I would have added the widget, but for the life of me I can’t figure out how.

Thanks for listening – I’ll be back tomorrow.

Leave a comment

Filed under Knitting, Uncategorized, writing101

Leave a Reply

