Projects, lots of projects!!

What a busy, busy year and it is only October!!! I’ve been MIA from my blogs for too much of the year, but life got in the way 🙂 In May I foolishly stated I’d be back to blogging before July. Evidently, I was more confident about the number of waking hours I would have free than I actually did. In addition to our youngest son and his wive’s move we also moved our middle son into his first home and my dad from downstate to a new house really close to us. Between packing and moving and fixing things that need to be done in the three new homes, writing sort of got pushed off my plate. Hopefully I can pick up the pace he last quarter of the year 🙂 Enough  of why I haven’t been posting, on to the projects I’ve been working on between unpacking and painting.

20130612_203033 20130704_180116

I finished the dragonfly socks I was working on. Love the way they turned out. (Finished them on the road to our son’s home – it is a long drive 🙂 )

The next project was small, I purchased some fresh lavender from Local Harvest (google them, really grreat stuff available) so I made a really cute little knit sachet out of left over sock yarn. I’m going to sew small sachets out of muslin, fill with the lavender and give for small Christmas gifts. I am currently working on one out of Knit Picks Stroll tonal yarn in oranges. It is left over from the leg warmers my son’s girlfriend asked me to knit for her. she picked the pattern and I just finished adding the buttons today.

Allison's leg warmers

I finished 2 baby blankets for Allison’s cousins’ babies. I found the pattern for the puppy granny square, but made it bigger, added a shell border and thing they turned out really cute. I am thinking of making a kitten one next. Maybe a fish in the future…so many possiblities. They worked up really cute and easy. I used my goto fav yarn for baby blankets, Knit Picks brava. In case you thing they have me on the payroll, I’ve looked around and the Brava yarn is the most economical to use and really works up nice.

DSC_0011 DSC_0012I finished an afghan for a woman at work whose Mother started it several years aga, but steadily forgot how to knit as dementia ravaged her. She had over 1/2 of it done, using an unusual mix of 3 strands of different types yarn used together. After completing the second strip and knitting the third strip, I crocheted them together. My co-worker was extremely happy and was going to surprise her brother with the finished blanket, for whom her mother originally started making it for.

I’ve started on a new Christmas joke vest for my middle son. The crazy snowman vest I made him a few years ago doesn’t fit anymore because he’s lost quite a bit of weight. This one isn’t quite as crazy. I’m just about to begin the pattern rows, so hopefully pictures will follow soon.

20130915_204926Courbette_first section done_adding secondFinally, here is the shawlette I am working on to test the pattern. It is working up so beautifully, I love it. I almost have the second section done, and hope to start the third this weekend.

So much for what I did this summer – how was yours?

2 Comments

Filed under Crafts, Crocheting, family, Knitting, Ravelry

2 responses to “Projects, lots of projects!!

  1. Pingback: The Orples Visit A Lucky Dog. | Orples

  2. http://orples.net/orples-2/the-orples-visit-a-lucky-dog/
    The Orples have been admiring your needlework, Laura. Good job. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

