What happened to May???

Mercy! I didn’t realize I’ve been missing from my blog for an entire month. I’d like to say it was because I have been super productive doing all kinds of projects, but I haven’t.

I did make a trip to Maryland with the hubby to see our youngest son and his wife. They bought their first home and they needed Dad’s expertise and advice on a few projects. I did finish the baby blanket for Donita’s little girl while in the car, so I felt pretty good about that.

This blanket took way too much time. I started it with a beautiful variegated yarn, but quickly realized I didn’t have enough to finish.

Giana's blanket_0 Giana's blanket_2Giana's blanket_1So I started a second time with a perfect pale pink. It must have been in my stash for a while, but the band said there wasn’t a dye lot. So I bought more of the same color, got about 2/3 of the way finished and realized there WAS a difference in the color. I had to frog the whole thing back to the beginning of the second color and start a third time using only the newly purchased yarn. I guess third time was the charm, because I do love the way it turned out.

I’ve also completed a cowl that turned out pretty cool. The pattern, Mind the Gap will be offered on Ravelry by Remily Knits and is in my projects (writeknit) if you want to see more details. I used worsted yarn instead of a lighter weight, but love the way the long color change worked out.

Mind the Gap_finished

 

Last but not least, I am currently working on a pair of socks with yarn I got from my cousin for Christmas. The pattern is Dragonfly and has a pretty easy repetition of the pattern. I am going to adjust it a bit, because I don’t like patterns on the foot of my socks. It just feels too lumpy in my shoes and annoys me. I know, kinda like the princess and the pea, but that is just how I am.

Sock_1 Sock_2

Last but not least, I am still working on the possum yarn shawl. It is about 2/3 of the way done, but I need to concentrate when working on it now so it is more difficult to find the time to work on this project.

Happy Knitting!! I hope to be back here with an update before July 🙂

 

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Crocheting, family, Knitting, Ravelry

2 responses to “What happened to May???

  1. Just bumped into your blog today – nice writing AND I love all the photos! I just copied the pattern for the shawl you have as your top photo; planning on knitting one in variegated purples for a friend’s bridal shower gift (she’s getting married in Sept and the yarn should arrive here tomorrow – hopefully!). I, like you, have several projects in the ‘pan’ at the same time (don’t know too many knitters/crocheters who DON’T do that, do you?) Anyway, just wanted to say I enjoyed your blog entry and will attempt to follow your posts in the future!
    GrammiePammie

    Like

  2. Well, come what “May”… although it doesn’t sound to me like you’ve been too super-unproductive! ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

