Fun with Fiber Weekend

Here it is Sunday night already. What makes the week go so slowly and the weekend go so quickly?

Friday I finished the latest baby blanket and made the cutest little care label for it. I uses Brava yarn from Knit Picks http://www.knitpicks.com/yarn–fiber-en/yarn-color/yellows/brava-sport-yarn.html it is affordable and reliable. The texture is soft and cuddly and machine wash/dry care make it perfect for babies. I’ve made this pattern before: Baby Blanket #4659 by Bernat Design Studio, which is a free Ravelry pattern. The writer made it much more complicated than necessary, read the notes from other crocheters, and follow the advise of repeating the 3 pattern rows and ignoring the different number rows after 1-3. That being said, it is really a cute pattern and I really love how the shells turn into hearts. Dr Lorie's baby blanket completed

 

One of the craftiest gals I know, K2 gave me an awesome “knitting label kit” for my birthday. It included stamps, custom labels, inks and cording to attach them. Here is the one I made for Lori’s baby’s blanket.

labels

On Saturday I finally got back to Culture Stock in Aurora, IL for the weekly Knitting Circle (actually a Fiber Circle as there are knitters, crocheters, cross stitchers and needlepointers ((if that is a word?)) ) there. It was fun reconnecting with them because I haven’t been there in months. If you live close, you have to check out Culture Stock (https://www.facebook.com/CultureStock?fref=ts ) it is a great place.

I’ve been working on the possum yarn shawl, making fairly good progress. Here’s the latest pic. I pulled out one side because it is getting to large to see the whole shawl.

Possum shawl progress

Regarding the TKGA Master’s I am really behind. I have such lofty goals in January…

Future fiber fun – the class list is out for Stitches Midwest. I will either go on Saturday or Sunday, I am just not sure which day yet.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Crocheting, Knitting, possum yarn, Ravelry, TKGA Master's Program

Leave a Reply

