Watcha doing Master’s Monday 4

This week was great progress, but not especially what I planned. Master’s Monday turned into triage Tuesday for needlework. I had to set aside the Master’s program this week because on Monday I still had 3 squares to complete on the throw for my girlfriend’s birthday on Saturday. After finishing the squares, I had to finish the fifth strip, then crochet all 5 strips together. That was completed by Wednesday night.

Thursday I started on the border, which was supposed to be six rows. I completed three of them and realized I was living on the edge if an incomplete project because I knew I didn’t have enough yarn to finish. Luckily, my knitting buddy at work mentioned this week that she had one skein of the Knit Picks Brava yarn I was using. I sent her a text and she brought her skein to work on Friday morning.

Only a few hours to work on the Swirling Fan Throw before we were meeting my girlfriend and her hubby for dinner so right after family night dinner I plunked down in my chair to complete the last 3 rows. I worked about 1/2 of row 4 and was not as happy as I wanted to be with the product. So I tore it out and tried 3 more stitches before deciding on a simple single crocheted row. I was going to add a picot edging, but decided the sc edge worked as a last row, balancing the complexity of the pattern with the simplicity of sc was enough. You can check out the pattern on Revelry – I’m writeknit there too 🙂Nancy's throw (1)

Nancy loved the throw and I am ready to begin my next project, even though I am only 1/2 done with my bison helix scarf. That project is the one I’ve been taking to work for breaks and lunch knitting, because I don’t have to pay attention to the pattern  other than remembering which of the three rows in the patter I am working on.

Christmas sock yarnStarting a new project is always fun. This one is going to be a pair of socks. We are going on vacation (my fabulous hubby is taking me on a tropical trip!!!) and I need something portable for the long plane ride. My cousin gave me a gift card that I used to get sock yarn for 2 pairs of socks. I am going to get the purple OTN this afternoon. It is Serenity from Premier Yarns and feels really nice.  It’s a washable Merino, bamboo and nylon blend. The other yarn is Heart & Sole with Aloe from Red Heart. I love the colors and will use that next.

Master’s might be on hold until after I return, but my getaway is sooo worth catching up next month 😛

Leave a comment

Filed under Crafts, Crocheting, Knitting, Ravelry, TKGA Master's Program

Leave a Reply

