Master Monday #2

This week I read through the questions for the TKGA Hand Knitting Master’s Program Level 1 to see what I need to be looking for to answer them fully as I make progress on the program this year.

Question 1 has you look at the yarn band to collect information to determine gauge, and various other info. My yarn band gave me less information than many others I’ve used. It read: “Worsted, Afghan, Aran; 16-20 stitches per inch on 4.5 – 5.5 mm needles”.

This was a short story  compared to the sagas on some bands. Sometimes you learn when and where the fibers were collected, washing instructions in several languages and pictures and in once case the name of the alpaca whose haircut allowed me to knit. (pic from google images: u-knittedamiras.blogspot.com)

I’ve downloaded the “Standard Yarn Wt System” to give me all the info I needed to reference regarding yarns. I’ve been knitting for over 40 years and learned new things reading the info on their the Craft Yarn Council website.  http://www.craftyarncouncil.com/weight.html

They have advice, answers and classes for new knitters and crocheters and seasoned veterans. You get discounts on classes they offer with your TKGA membership.

So I’ve bookmarked the site on my computer for reference during and after the Master’s.

I am going to make swatch #1 this week and answer the associated questions. I’ll let you know how it goes on Monday.

Meantime, I had to share the coolest yarn holder my son bought me for Christmas this year. He was with his wife at a craft show and saw these handmade yarn bowls, thought of me and now I think of him every evening when I knit or crochet after dinner 🙂

yarn pot

Leave a comment

Filed under Crafts, Crocheting, Knitting Techniques, TKGA Master's Program, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

