Whatcha doin’ Wednesday #1

To keep myself on task a weekly report on my 2013 projects seemed like a good idea. I was going to call these posts WIP Wednesdays but that seemed too ordinary. So Whatcha doin seemed to be more in order.

This week has been productive project week for me. I haven’t taken pictures of the two projects I am working on except this one of the first square for the Spiral Fan Throw I am making for my girlfriend’s birthday.

Fan throw first square

So far I’ve completed 14 of the 35 squares and have them in two strips of 7. I only have 3 more strips and the edging to complete, so feel fairly confident that this project will be completed in time for her birthday. I’m using Brava Worsted from Knit Picks in Wine. I really love the feel of this yarn and the way it works up. It is soft and feels as though it will be really warm and cozy.

My knitting project is a helix scarf I am making for myself out of the bison yarn I purchased at Stitches Midwest. I was encouraged to start this project first by my friend. She was with me when I purchased the yarn and was anxious to see how it would work up. It has the feel of cotton even though  it is 90% super was merino and 10% American Bison. Fun yarn from Stitches

It is the hot pink and black hank in this picture of all of the yarns that I purchased at Stitches. As a sidebar – I have used almost all of the yarn pictured here. The blue and orange is now a scarf made for my son’s girlfriend. Go Bears!! The two at the top – the brown and beige variegated –  are now a washcloth for my girlfriend for Christmas and several dishcloths for our kitchen. The only thing here that is still in my stash are the three little twists of bison yarn. They came with a pattern for cute little Christmas stockings. This is inspiring me to add those 3 little projects to my list of things to do for Christmas 2013.

How are your projects coming along this year? Have you jumped in with both feet? Are you planning your projects? Are you more of a free spirit and do what you do when you do it without a real plan of action? Just wondering what you are doing. 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Crafts, Crocheting, Knitting

Leave a Reply

