Quick catch up post

I’m late with last week’s Work In Progress report, it is almost time for next weeks, so I’ll only bore you once with the details of what has been happening.

I still have 8 squares to complete for the afghan, but that is almost next on my list. All of the strips are completed so far, so it won’t take tons of time to complete it once the last squares are done. This week I plan to go to Culture Stock on Saturday morning and will take this project along.

The Helix Scarf for my daughter-in-law is almost done. As soon as I finish writing this, I hope to finish it. I’ll post a picture over the weekend. I got the yarn for a scarf I am going to get my girlfriend started on at work. She asked me to find a Harry Potter scarf pattern that was simple because her grandson asked her to knit him one for Christmas. Ravelry had a ton of Harry Potter scarves, but most of them were more complicated that she felt comfortable making. Then I found one that is knit in the round, which would have been perfect. Straight knitting, no fancy change of stitches, and the tube shape of knitting in the round would eliminate curling edges.

The problem was she didn’t want to work in the round. So we are going super simple. Half the stitches of the “tube” design, straight knitting to achieve a garter stitch fabric that won’t roll. The only challenge will be changing color every 20 to 22 rows. I think she can handle it so we are going for it.

 I ordered Knit Picks Brava worsted because it is durable, washable and soft. But I am a dope because I put the colors in my shopping bag, then printed out the colors so she could see them. She liked the pictures, so I promptly ordered 2 of each color. Forgetting the original order was hanging out in the inbox. So now I have enough for two scarves. I think I’ll make one for my oldest son as a joke. He is an avid reader and enjoyed the Harry Potter series and living in MD has seen a lot of snow the past few years.

So here is my plan of action. First on the agenda is the Helix Scarf, as a bit of entertainment, I will get my girlfriend going on her grandson’s gift. Then I am going to work on a couple of washcloths for my cutest little cousin who will be a year old right after the holidays. I’ve found a couple of cute patterns. One has a dog, one has a bunny, one has a kitten..you get the idea. All of them very quick and I already have the yarn. If I get busy I can do two of them in a week.

Then the snowflake afghan will be the last project that has to be done before Christmas. If by some crazy chance I have a little extra time I’ll work on the extra Harry Potter scarf. Since next week is Thanksgiving already (how did that happen so soon??) I am not very confident that will happen. Because we all know life can easily get in the way.

Leave a comment

Filed under Crocheting, Knitting

Leave a Reply

