Slow down, walking gets you there too!

I guess three times is the charm when it comes to knitting this Mystery Shawl. Whatever clicked in my brain, I am happy it happened. I am rolling happily along, half way through the first clue.

Never mind the fourth clue just arrived this weekend. Slow and steady is my pace and it seems to be working. And counting over and over again. I wasn’t as carefree this time. I put in that rescue row / life line in right before the pattern got more complicated. It just seemed much more prudent than tearing it out for a fourth time.

I also have giving up on working on it if I am really tired or distracted. Why chance it? I am not running a race. Which brings to mind this weekend’s activities besides my slow shawl progress.

A couple of months ago my daughter-in-law and I signed up to run a 5k to benefit the Chicago Zoological Society’s Conservation Fund. Last year we ran our first 5k and I haven’t really ran much since. There is always an excuse not to exercise. I should exercise more, but I don’t. I need a goal. Don’t ask me why, I just do.

I figured I could start really hitting the treadmill and streets to run about a month before the race. It was summer, really hot, no rain…whine, whine…sad but true. So I slid through the summer not doing much exercise wise. Then I fell down the stairs. Five short weeks before the race, I had a sprained foot and torn ligaments. Good grief.

Over the last week I could finally say my foot was feeling pretty normal. I can wear real shoes again! Which is a nice thing since it is getting pretty cold around here for flip flops.

On Thursday, my daughter in law asked me if her sister could use my number. Of course she could, because then she would have someone to run with. Then she told me she hadn’t been training either. And she had a cold. And she was just going to walk the 5k. Hummm. I told her that if her sister didn’t want to do it I would walk with her.

Hubby had a hissy. I get it. I was pretty laid up for almost a month, now I want to walk over 3 miles. I promised I’d stop if it hurt. He shook his head and gave up the fight.

So this morning bright and early, we went and we walked. It certainly wasn’t a crazy fast event for us. But we did a respectable time of 53.06. I certainly thought that was acceptable. Now that I started I don’t want to stop. So back to the treadmill tomorrow. It may cut down on my knitting time, but hopefully it will give me more years to knit in the long run 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under 5K races, Knitting

Leave a Reply

