Someone Shook My Ant Farm

Did you ever get the feeling something is wrong? Nothing that you can put your finger on, but the world isn’t spinning in the right direction. My aunt used to say we go along fine, thinking we are in total control, then someone shakes up your ant farm.

For those of you way younger than me, once upon a time you could buy an ant farm. It was two pieces of clear plastic held in a bright green plastic frame that had a sliding opening on the top to feed the ants. It came with white sand inside, between the clear panes.

There was a postcard in the box that you completed and mailed in to the “ant people” for lack of a better word. They mailed you a glass tube of live ants to add to the farm. You watched them build roads, hide the little bits of food you dropped in and even move the dead members of the ant farm to the end of an ant road and fill it in like a tiny ant tomb.

Lots of kids carried their ant farms around and if you jostled them – or worse shook it – the little roads would collapse and the ants would be buried. The struggled to rebuild, some died, some just kept rolling along doing what ants do.

SO – someone majorly shook my ant farm this week. I must have sensed the big sweating hands of a bully grabbing my nice little farm. He tilted it a bit, then shook the living snot of it. That icky feeling I had was spot on unfortunately.

What kind of ant will I be? For the first day or so I wanted to be the curled up ant that can’t take any more of the nonsense that is happening. Then I decided to put on my big girl anty panties and start making a new tunnel. Who knows where it might go?

Life is about choices. I seriously have to decide some days to choose to focus on the great things in my life. I have a terrific hubby and 3 grown sons I adore. I am lucky enough to have a 2 daughter-in-laws that I love like my own. My extended family is great, my job is not awful (it is still a job, let’s be serious!) and I get to do fun stuff like write, read wonderful books and knit. My ant farm is quite cozy.

What can possibly make me grumpy with all this greatness? My dad’s health isn’t good. He just called tonight to say he has to have heart surgery. He is coming up by us to have it done, that is a huge relief. We’ve actually found a house that might be perfect for him up here. Keeping my fingers crossed the bully keeps his hands out of this mess.

One of my sons has been extremely sick the over the last two years. He is MUCH better now and looking for work. And looking. And looking…you get the idea. What we thought was going to be a sure thing fell through. Maybe his ant road on the way there just caved in? Again, the Susie Sunshine in me tries to beat up the crab. Two years ago the doctors told us he had a 30% chance of making it. Now he is so good he is trying his best to get a job and restart his life. His ant farm wasn’t just shaken, it was drop kicked down the side of a mountain. Yet, his new roads are looking great – one will lead to a job, he just needs to keep on digging.

Where there is hope, there is life so whenever your ant farm gets a little shake or a major, plastic cracking, ant killing incident happens to you go ahead and take a day or two hunker down and be grumpy. But after that, take a breath and start digging a new road, you never know where it will lead you.

2 Comments

Filed under Choose to be happy

2 responses to “Someone Shook My Ant Farm

  1. Lovely concept! I will think of the ants next time I’m down. Thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

