Fiber Filled Labor Day Weekend

It has been a fiber filled Labor Day weekend. I’ve been reading and knitting my way through the days since Friday night.

Most people plan picnics, pool parties or at least hang out at the mall to snatch up some holiday specials. I did take time out for dinner with my extended family, visited the youngest member of our family to watch her crawl (new skill!) and date night with hubby. But if you are a knitter, you know exactly where I am coming from when I say my knitting weekend has been exquisite.

First and foremost, I received the long anticipated first clue for the Fall Mystery Shawl KAL Group. Check it out on Ravelry! I was itching to start it as soon as the first clue arrived yesterday morning. But I knew if I cast on those 7 stitches, I would never keep up my self imposed schedule of completing at least 3 rows a day to have it done in time for my friend’s birthday in a couple of weeks.

As incentive to sit and work diligently, I decided to finally watch the final Harry Potter movie. (I got it for Christmas and have been meaning to get to it, but 2 hours is a lot of time to commit to..). I finished the 3 rows, then decided I should keep working on it until the movie was over. Reasoning that it would be too difficult to pay attention to a new pattern during the demise of “You Know Who”.

Ta da! I finished 12 rows and plan to finish one more today (the lace row) so that I can work on this tomorrow at work during break and lunch just to make better progress. Check it out!

Late last night I finally got my new addi lace needles out to start the mystery pattern. I made ok progress, like my choice of beads (which I have never incorporated into a knit item before) and have been counting over and over to make sure I don’t miss an important step and end up with a mess instead of a scarf.

I am contemplating a rescue row or lifeline before I go much further just in case. Do you ever use rescue rows?

When I began knitting socks, I was frantic about turning heals. Now it is one of my favorite parts of sock creation, but then it was very scary. I don’t know why, if I just would have read the pattern, stopped thinking and did what it said, I would have been fine.

A gal on one of the yahoo sock groups suggested a rescue row so I wouldn’t lose the work I’d done. All you have to do is cut a length of yarn or dental floss that is smaller than the yarn you are using. Using a darning needle, thread it through the stitches on the needles. You can either tie it in a very loose loop, or just leave it hanging free.Then just keep on knitting like it isn’t there. Once you feel safe that you aren’t messing up, you can remove it. If a problem arises, then you can frog back to the rescue row, pick up the stitches that are safely saved on the rescue thread and continue on (again) :)When I was learning to knit socks, I left it in until I was done. It was my knitting wooby for a while.

As you’ve been reading, most of my progress this week has been on the 2 shawls I have on the needles. I’m made ok progress on the Bears scarf because it was my travel project for work last week.

The last baby blanket, alpaca hat and socks have not been thought of this week. I have the yarn for all of them, but it would be cheating to call it progress when I’ve had it for quite a while.

The snowflake afghan is in hold until the first shawl is done. One must work triage sometimes – or if you are me – most of the time. 🙂

Hope you all had a safe and happy Labor Day – and if you are a knitter – I hope you added lots of perfect rows to your projects.

Leave a comment

Filed under Knitting, Ravelry

Leave a Reply

