Do you push yourself?

Do you push yourself when choosing what to knit? I spent years making easier garments like baby sweaters and winter hats. I might pick an interesting stitch, but honestly didn’t get out of my comfort zone.

Then I started talking with a friend of mine at work who has been knitting for a couple of years and makes beautiful lace shawls, intricate scarves and even writes her own sock patterns. She inspires me. When I told her I couldn’t do lace (never having tried it) she insisted it was really easy and I had to try. I’ve finished a beautiful simple lace scarf for my boss’ Christmas present last year. And currently am working on a my second lace shawl.

She also urged me to start the TKGA Master Knitter’s program. I’ve made 2 of the swatches, but found a lovely wool at Stitches Midwest that I have to use. The stitch definition is exquisite! Of course I didn’t buy it then, but today I ordered it from Unwind Yarn House. It is their “house” yarn – Timothy Street. Check out their website to see what they have to offer. Wendy is great to work with. (www.timothystreetyarns.com & www.unwindyarnhouse.com)

I also draw inspiration to push myself from other knitting blogs, magazines and the current book I’m reading. “Sweater Quest” by Adrienne Martini is the journey she takes during her  “year of knitting dangerously”.  Her challenge was knitting a famous Alice Starmore pattern; her Mary Tudor sweater. Hum, Fair Isle might be my next self-challenge.

In order to grow and learn, I have to move out of my blanket and sock comfort zone. It is almost September and I signed up for a mystery shawl KAL. It has beads (never used them!) and tiny lace yarn (it scares me!). That is my stretch for this year. January 1 will be my “time to get serious” date for the Master’s Program. No excuses like this year!!!

What do you do to inspire yourself and push yourself? Your knitting is art. Most of the time it is ok to do what you know and do it well. Once in a while, it is good to stretch your comfort level to the breaking point and do something you never imagined you could do. If I can do it you can too!

Leave a comment

Filed under Knitting, TKGA Master's Program

Leave a Reply

