Cup of Joe for a Joe

Knitting and writing are coming along better than expected due to my clumsiness last week. Doc said my sprain and pulled ligaments will keep me sitting as much as possible for the next 6-7 weeks. So that means many more hours of sitting in my comfy chair working on my girlfriend’s birthday shawl and polishing up the 3 completed PB I have hanging around waiting for a publisher to love them. Although, as delightfully fun as knitting and writing in evenings and on the weekend my sound, it has only been a week and I am going stir crazy.
My fabulous husband has been cooking, cleaning and waiting on me. If I so much as get up to retrieve a book from the shelves I am questioned like the man is auditioning to be the next Sherlock Holmes!
This has also allowed me more time to spend on the blogs I am following and time to post to mine. Not a bad deal if –  a) my foot didn’t hurt and b) it wasn’t so boring. I digress. I follow Marie McGaha, Publisher at Dancing With Bear Publishing. She is the mother of a Marine and had a link to a great project for our troups.
It’s called Cup of Joe for a Joe. For as little as $2.00 you can send a cup of coffee to one of our service members. Check out the website  http://www.greenbeanscoffee.com/coj/
It is so easy – here are the steps listed on their website:
Step 1: Choose Your Gift

Each $2 provides a different Service Member with a Cup Of Joe gift. Choose the amount you want to spend using the app at the upper right, then click the blue BUY button

Step 2: Write Your Message

After you push the BUY button, you’ll see a form where you can write your message that will be delivered with each of your Cup Of Joe gifts.

Step 3: Enter Your Payment Information

It’s simple, safe and secure. You can use a major credit card or PayPal.

Step 4: We’ll Deliver Your Gift

The message you write is delivered to our Troops by email and the freshly brewed cups of coffee are served at Green Beans Coffee cafes on the bases where they’re deployed. We’ll also give each Service Member a chance to respond – and most of them do, so watch your email for their letters!

How easy is this??? It is understandable that not everyone has a spare couple of dollars. But if there is a bit of extra cash around, this is a great way to show our troups we are thinking about them. The website has lots of emails that have been sent to thank everyone that is donating. I read some of them today – be sure to have some kleenex handy!

If you can’t participate, how about passing the info along to someone that might? Thanks!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

