Confessions of a Fiber Freak

So I got an email from KnitPicks today offering up to  40% off of sock yarns. I’d have to be crazy to order more sock yarn when I have enough to make a dozen pair in my stash. Yet – what harm is it to look…. a quick look at sock yarn proved I do have a bit of will power left. Unfortunately, they had other yarns on sale also.
Even though my stash overfloweth, I absolutely, positively do not have enough baby blue in the entire closet to make the 2 baby afghans I need to have completed by September. And, in my own defense, the new Brava acrylic is super soft and great to work with. It’s only $2.99 a 100 gram ball and since I need it, I may as well order enough for 2 blankets and get started.
That brings me to my next problem. If I spend $50 I get free shipping. Hum, pay about $10 to ship or spend the same amount of money and get more yarn? Who, I ask you, WHO would NOT get the extra yarn??? Besides, they have a beautiful Chroma on clearance – it would make a yummy scarf or shawl…..
Ok, I’ll admit it. I love to buy yarn, work with yarn, give gifts made of yarn – I’m a Fiber Freak. There, now that it is in the open, I feel much, much better.
But just because I am a Fiber Freak, that does not mean I am not productive – it just means I’ll have enough yarn to work with when I retire in 10 years or so without worrying. I’ll stash shop. Meanwhile, I have a few projects that need to be completed before the snow flies. Or at least before Santa leaves the North Pole this year.
To keep me honest, I’ll list them below and give you all updates once a week or so.
2 Baby boy afghans – both need to be completed by early fall, so more than likely I will crochet them as I can do that faster with a shell pattern that looks more complicated than it really is.
Snowflake afghan – Christmas gift and Ravelry KAL (or I guess CAL) – progress so far: 16 of 59 squares completed as of today
Pr socks –  to win a bet that I wouldn’t make 3 pr this year.
Hat – made from the super soft alpaca I bought on vacation in Oregon this spring – for me!
Shawl – this is dicey – if you’ve been following my blog, I’ve been messing around with this shawl for over a month. Still not all that happy, but will try and carry on.
Mystery Shawl – seemed like fun, this will start in September
Other than continuing to work on the Master’s program, I think this about sums it up. I reserve the right to add projects as they come up 🙂
1 Comment

Filed under Crocheting, Knitting, Ravelry

One response to “Confessions of a Fiber Freak

  1. Hi, congratulations I’ve just nominated you for the Inspiring Blogger Award here http://www.bit.ly/Award14 enjoy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

